I've now spend a few post on saying sort of why I dislike Steam. I think it's been me reacting on a game series of my favorits latest version have been released as a Steam only game.
So I needed to vent some air out somewhere, not only that it's been sort of a small discussion with myself Every time I was close to say I'm gonna use steam I came here and started writing down why I dislike Steam.
Now the conclusion is more that I'm most likely gonna give steam a second chance and get the game I like Who knows I might enjoy not Owning the game but playing it.
tirsdag den 12. oktober 2010
fredag den 1. oktober 2010
Steam Why it should be avoided.
Steam sucks Period.
I don’t want to run a program that needs to be on-line just for me to be able to play a off-line game,
I don’t want to make more connections to the INTERNET than absolutely needed.
I absolutely don’t wanna be forced to be on-line just to install a game.
I don’t want a game that I can’t resell when done with it or borrow to a friend so that he might get interested enough in the game to actually buy it from retail.
the rest will be quotes and links on other's opinions that I mostly agree with.
this is quoted from a post on steam http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1152603
I don’t want to run a program that needs to be on-line just for me to be able to play a off-line game,
I don’t want to make more connections to the INTERNET than absolutely needed.
I absolutely don’t wanna be forced to be on-line just to install a game.
I don’t want a game that I can’t resell when done with it or borrow to a friend so that he might get interested enough in the game to actually buy it from retail.
the rest will be quotes and links on other's opinions that I mostly agree with.
this is quoted from a post on steam http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1152603
Hello to the ppl working at Steam ( idiots )
You might think I was a bit harsh with the topic name. But fear not. Here is the reason for it.
1. I buy a game to play.
2. my money. not yours
3. Lets say I have to go somewhere and there is no internett where I am. And I want to install my new game to play it. Hmmm see he problem here?
4. I buy the game, not a software so I can download a client of the game and not the game itself. I bought it, I have the dvd`s. I want it installed on my computer and play it when I want to, where I want to. And not be restricted to " oh you need an internett connection to be able to play the game " horse ♥♥♥♥!
I remember back in the days when you bought the game, punched in a cd-key and that was it.
Now it takes about 10 min to install the game (no problem there)
But it takes ♥♥♥♥ing 30-40 min to log into this crappy steam VAC system and it aint even working!!!! so now I am sitting here with a brand new game, that I cant play cause you at steam just had to ♥♥♥♥ it up with this bull ♥♥♥♥ program that has in fact NOTHING to do with the game or games what so ever to begin with!
Do your program help with the FPS? NO!
what about... does the game cost less? NO!
better grapfics? NO!
Do you pay ME money to have your program on my computer and taking up disk space on the hard-drive that I own? NO!
Does your system make the install and running of games any better and more easy, or give some added bonus besides the game? NO!
Soooooo... what then?
"oh we provide a service to the ppl out there and help copy right protection with our VAC system, so we stop pirates"
Ey...einsteins... wake up and smell the morning coffee would you please.. The dumb VAC system does not work at all. It takes me shorter amount of time to download a torrent or crack to bypass you VAC system and install it and make the game run, than to login and all the other crap I have to do with your system.
oh and news flash. I have several games that have the VAC system, and everyone is cracked. strangest part is... and I find it almost worth laughing about... the games now works better with the crack installed than to run it with steams VAC system... WELL DONE!!!
So in fact, its the ppl and I am one of them that gets punished for what the pirates do!! and I buy my games!!! WHF!!!! I buy the games and the games work worse than the pirated ones!!!
and the game designers are sitting and wondering why ppl are pirating like mad?? ITS BECAUSE IT WORKS BETTER THAN THE ORIGINAL WITH ALL THE SECURITY BULL♥♥♥♥!!! hell you dont need to be a doctor to understand this!
I just want to play the dam game I bought, and I dont want to go through an security and valiation check like I was trying to break into a federal bank or something. whats next?? you need a sample of my blood to keep track of my dna? so you can be sure it is me?
Do me a favor. Make a patch that I can use when I am not online. So I can still install my game and play it.
Or better yet.. I hope and pray that someday someone makes a virus that will destroy steam and other programs like this.
cause steam imo is like a virus to games, and gamers. face it, the more bull♥♥♥♥ you force on with the game, the higher the risk for a crash, freeze, etc etc. so no wonder again a pirated version works better cause they removed the extra garbage that has nothing to do with the game.
So my new game is going back to the store and I will get myself the cracked one. Hell it will even work better + its free. Good luck finding a better bargin.
And I guess this post will be deleted cause poor steam dont like ppl talking bad about them...
Games Piracy
It's no wonder there is a higher piracy of games these day's, either the games are so bad that they aren't worth paying for, or they release their games on media's that just isn't allowing as much as gamers want. media's like Steam that limits the use of their software so much that you start to wonder if they actually wanna let people play their games, just maybe someone out there could get a great idea while playing their games, that would be bad for steam.
When I buy a game. it should be Hell of a good game.
I should be able to decide whether I wanna keep the game or sell it on to friends or let a friend borrow it for a little while once I'm done with it. thou When a game is good I keep it of cause.
Development companies talk so much about how piracy hurts their income and ability to make games for us.
Well instead they should start realizing that piracy would be minimal if they just followed a few Simple rules when making their games:
Don't Ever make a game for Steam. Period.
Don't release a game that isn't 99% perfect at release.
Don't screw over your customers by Changing Fundamental stuff.
if making a port from Any console Don't limit the PC version because the console version was limited.
And Never Ever remove something from a PC game that have been considered Standard in other games of similar types.
Make games with Play value.
If making games for on-line play, Make sure that the game is fairly balanced at release, with a minimal of bugs.
following those simple rules will minimize piracy to such an extent that most would buy the games because the game is worth the money.
Game developers these days are moving in the wrong direction when they are trying to protect their software, they are trying to do what the music industry have done for years. worst part is the music industry is loosing badly because of their policies, I would suggest the Game industry to look at the music industries and learn from their failures.
I would even go as far as saying that the more the games get protected towards piracy the higher the interest there is in piracy. make a few stuff that most CD/DVD/blueray's have these days renew them if needed. but don't start to use Steam because steams approach is one of the worst ways to try and prevent piracy it's so bad that games on steam usually are pirated and used by tons of people Each day and they have no intention of buying the game.
instead release the games in to piracy area's and see how people would Run to the companies to buy the game because they loved the game. thou this approach of cause requires the game to have a Great play value and not too many bugs. but it will be so many times better than the Steam approach.
I hate when the game industry and music industry is Whining about their money loss because of piracy, it's their own fault for not realizing that a game or a piece of music would bring in money from people that like it instead of forcing people to buy it and then they realize they didn't like it anyway. if a game or a piece of music is good then once it is tried or heard one time or a few times the people who like it would Gladly spend a lot of money on that particular game or music.
When I buy a game. it should be Hell of a good game.
I should be able to decide whether I wanna keep the game or sell it on to friends or let a friend borrow it for a little while once I'm done with it. thou When a game is good I keep it of cause.
Development companies talk so much about how piracy hurts their income and ability to make games for us.
Well instead they should start realizing that piracy would be minimal if they just followed a few Simple rules when making their games:
Don't Ever make a game for Steam. Period.
Don't release a game that isn't 99% perfect at release.
Don't screw over your customers by Changing Fundamental stuff.
if making a port from Any console Don't limit the PC version because the console version was limited.
And Never Ever remove something from a PC game that have been considered Standard in other games of similar types.
Make games with Play value.
If making games for on-line play, Make sure that the game is fairly balanced at release, with a minimal of bugs.
following those simple rules will minimize piracy to such an extent that most would buy the games because the game is worth the money.
Game developers these days are moving in the wrong direction when they are trying to protect their software, they are trying to do what the music industry have done for years. worst part is the music industry is loosing badly because of their policies, I would suggest the Game industry to look at the music industries and learn from their failures.
I would even go as far as saying that the more the games get protected towards piracy the higher the interest there is in piracy. make a few stuff that most CD/DVD/blueray's have these days renew them if needed. but don't start to use Steam because steams approach is one of the worst ways to try and prevent piracy it's so bad that games on steam usually are pirated and used by tons of people Each day and they have no intention of buying the game.
instead release the games in to piracy area's and see how people would Run to the companies to buy the game because they loved the game. thou this approach of cause requires the game to have a Great play value and not too many bugs. but it will be so many times better than the Steam approach.
I hate when the game industry and music industry is Whining about their money loss because of piracy, it's their own fault for not realizing that a game or a piece of music would bring in money from people that like it instead of forcing people to buy it and then they realize they didn't like it anyway. if a game or a piece of music is good then once it is tried or heard one time or a few times the people who like it would Gladly spend a lot of money on that particular game or music.
Abonner på:
Kommentarer (Atom)